Return to local authentication
- Last Updated: October 4, 2026
- 2 minute read
- OpenEdge Command Center
- Version 2.1
- Documentation
You can roll back OpenEdge Command Center to local authentication if the external identity provider (IdP) is unavailable, misconfigured, or prevents users from signing in. This rollback applies to the entire OpenEdge Command Center deployment. In a multiple-node deployment, the rollback and restart must be completed on all servers. Individual users cannot switch authentication modes for themselves.
The IdP configuration is not deleted during the rollback. It remains stored and inactive, allowing you to reactivate the IdP authentication later, without entering the configuration values again.
Prerequisites
Before you begin, ensure that the following conditions are met:
- You can sign into the OpenEdge Command Center server host with root privileges on Linux, or with Administrator privileges on Windows.
- You can restart the OpenEdge Command Center server and all other servers in a multiple-node deployment.
To restore local authentication, perform the following steps:
- On the OpenEdge Command Center server host, run
SWITCHAUTHMODE --LISTto confirm the exact name of the local configuration. - To activate local authentication, run
SWITCHAUTHMODE --ACTIVATE LOCALon the OpenEdge Command Center server host.This utility sets the local configuration as the active configuration and keeps the IdP configuration stored and inactive.
- Restart the OpenEdge Command Center server:
oeccserver stop oeccserver startIn a multiple-node deployment, restart every node because each node reads the active configuration at startup.
- Open the OpenEdge Command Center URL and sign in as a restored local user by entering user
name and password.
The login page displays the Username and Password fields, instead of the Sign in with OAuth button of the IdP.
- To reset the password, click Forgot password.
- Run
SWITCHAUTHMODE --LISTand confirm that the IdP configuration is still stored and is now inactive. You can activate it later without entering its values again.