Rescan Options
- Last Updated: July 14, 2025
- 2 minute read
- WhatsUp Gold
- Version 2025
Rescan options enable you to refine scanning behavior associated with certain active monitors including interface active monitors. These options are most useful when performing rescan on selected batches or groups of devices.
- Update names for Interface and SNMP Table Active Monitors. Label and description data generated during the scan (such as name data harvested from the discovery scan according to scan rules) will replace/refresh old labels and descriptions.
-
Enable or disable Interface and SNMP Table Active Monitors. This option is
helpful for enabling or disabling active monitors on large switches in bulk. For
switches with many physical interfaces/ports, selecting the option enables rescan to
place Interface Monitors (a WhatsUp Gold active monitor type) in enabled
state with the condition that the interface is administratively configured and
ready. If the interface is not configured and ready, WhatsUp Gold brings active
monitors to the disabled state.Important: Results received from using either of the first two Rescan options are dependent upon applied interface filters.
- Apply 'Use in Rescan' options for Active Monitors. Most active monitors such as FTP and SSH feature a Use in Rescan option. Select Use in Rescan to apply this behavior for the current rescan. Deselect Use in Rescan to override it. The Use in Rescan option indicates to WhatsUp Gold that it should attempt to apply this active monitor when Discovery detects any new conditions (a new SSH endpoint, for example) that warrant it.
- Include user-defined/assigned roles. Select this option to ensure any roles previously assigned to the device(s), including those previously defined by the user, are retained following refresh/rescan.
- Reset Device. Select this option to wipe/reset the following: inventory,
resources, MAC address, interfaces, roles, operating system information, brand, SNMP
OID, display name, and Attributes.
- Reset monitors. Select this option to wipe all monitors and related history.
- Remove custom defined attributes. Select this option to remove applicable attributes from the device.
- Remove stale data. Select this option to reset the inventory and discovery data for the given time period. Please note, the historical monitoring and configured data are retained.