Decoupling Clusters
- Last Updated: September 14, 2026
- 1 minute read
- MarkLogic Server
- Version 12.0
- Documentation
You can use the Admin Interface to decouple local and foreign clusters to disable inter-cluster communication.
Note:
Before decoupling clusters, you must delete any database replication configurations between the local cluster and the cluster to be decoupled. For more information, see Deleting a Database Replication Configuration.
v12.1.0 and up
To decouple a cluster from the local cluster, follow these steps:
-
Click Clusters on the left tree menu.
-
Click the foreign cluster to be decoupled. The Foreign Cluster Configuration summary page appears.
-
Click the Decouple button to the far right of the cluster name. The first Decouple Clusters confirmation modal appears.
-
Click Confirm. The second Decouple Clusters confirmation modal appears.
-
Click Confirm. The cluster Summary tab reappears with the foreign cluster removed.
v12.0.x
To decouple a cluster from the local cluster, follow these steps:
- Click Clusters on the left tree menu. The cluster Summary tab appears.
- Locate the foreign cluster to be decoupled and click Decouple. The Sign in page for the foreign cluster appears.
- Sign in to the foreign cluster. The Decouple Clusters page appears.
- Click OK. The Decouple Clusters - Validated page appears.
- Click OK. The cluster Summary tab reappears with the foreign cluster gone.